facebook logo-dark

Special Appointments

To contact any of the executive, go to "Executive" contacts page and click on their email link.


Commodore: John Curran
Past Commodore: Pam May-Straka
Vice Commodore: Peter Howells
Rear Commodore: Bill Hamilton
Fleet Captain: Andrew Rycroft
Treasurer: Claudia Hand
Secretary: Sandra Dutton
Staff Captains: Simon & Jane Huddy


Social Director: Vacant
Communications Director: Kathy Swangard
Director At Large: John Vallis


By-Law Committee: Peter Howells (chair), Gary Davis, Ron Davis Pam May-Straka, Brian Steane, Gerry Thompson
Environmental Committee :  Bruce Perry & Volunteers
Honorary Life Membership Committee: Peter Howells (chair), Ron Davis, Brian Steane
Reciprocal Committee:  John Gunton & Volunteers
Yearbook Committee: Ann Barber (editor), Charline Sinclair, advertising


Council of BC Yacht Club Delegates: Bill Hamilton, Michael Swangard
Fairwinds Development Committee Current Commodore, Vice Commodore & Past Commodore
Membership Chairperson Peter Howells
Sunshine Bonnie Curl
Web Master/Web Administrator Kathy Swangard
Club Photographers: Ad Hoc, Volunteers
Historian Webmaster/Web Administrator
Ladies' & Gents' Luncheons Andrea & John Vallis
Afterdeck Bill Hamilton, Charline Sinclair & Volunteers
 Weather Station and Web Cameras:  position vacant


View our past commodores


2014-15 Pam May-Straka 1992-93 Bruce Berry
2013-14 Karen Herage  1991-92  Lou Boulanger
2012-13 Joe Straka  1990-91  Herb Welch
2010-12 Ron Davis 1989-90 Maggi Slassor
2009-10 DiAnne Hill 1988-89 Joe Dennison
2008-09 Brian Steane 1987-88 Joe Skipsey
2007-08 Bonnie Curl 1986-87 Hereward Allix
2006-07 Sylvia St. Denis 1985-86 Ewan Cameron
2005-06 Ken Woodward 1984-85 Tom Haynes
2004-05 Rick Picard 1983-84 Ana Brune
2003-04 Tom Duncan 1982-83 Fred Kearney
2002-03 Jim Castle 1981-82 Len Mustard
2000-02 Paul Norris 1980-81 Pat Lagrandeur
1999-00 Heinz Timmann 1978-80 Bill Wacey
1998-99 Ed Estlin 1977-78 Maarten Prinsze
1996-98 Robert Sanders 1976-77 Mike Trumper
1995-96 Laurie Christenson 1975-76 Brian Anthony
1994-95 George Hickson    
1993-94  Marian Heiman