facebook logo-dark

2018 Racers' Awards held on April 14th 2019

Following the last two races of this year's Spring Series, skippers, crew and assorted spouses and friends gathered at the Afterdeck to applaud the winners of the Series Races held in 2018. Fleet Captain Dean Dreger officiated and Commodore Ryan Ladien was on hand to lend an air of dignity. Dean began by recognizing Richard Hudson for organizing the successful and popular Racing Clinic held in March at the Nanaimo Yacht Club. 


 The Ken Woodward Hot Rum Series and the Spring Series were both won by Spud, skippered by John Collins.

The Fall Colours Series was won by Regalo, skippered by Wally Clark.

The Bay Race was won by Ice Bear, skippered by Neal Berger.

HotRumSpring 18FallColours 18BayRace 18


Shingebiss, skippered by Neal Berger, placed highest of SCYC boats in the Lasqueti Island Regatta.

John Collins, skipper of SPUD, was presented with the coveted trophy for overall winner of 2018 Series Races.

Overall 18 

 After the ceremonies, the crowd tucked into an excellent lunch of homemade BBQ burgers and salad.

BBQ2 18BBQ3 18